Resources


language_sv.gif På Svenska

Permissions and roles

Like any other tool, Resources have default permissions. You can change these settings according to your needs in the menu Permissions. You can set permissions for all resources on the site or for specific folders. To set permissions for all resources on the site, click on Permissions in the horizontal top menu.

resources_permission_01_en.png

Below you can see the default permissions for the different roles on a course site.

resources_permission_site_01_en.png

If you want to set permissions for a specific folder click on Actions and choose Edit Folder Permissions.

resources_permission_folder_01_en.png

Below you can see the default permissions for a specific folder on the site.

resources_permission_folder_02_en.png

You can set permissions to read (to see), to edit (update) and delete files depending on the participant´s role on the site. As you can see, students are only allowed to read the files stored in Resources by default. That means that they cannot create or modify any files unless you change their permissions. You can do that by ticking the relevant check boxes.

You cannot change the permissions for an individual, only for a role like e.g. students.

Permissions

  • Create resources: The user can create a folder, upload files and create links to files.
  • Read resources: The user can see and download files.
  • Edit any resource: The user has permission to make changes in all files, including other participant´s files.
  • Edit own resources: The user can make changes in his/her own files but not in other participant´s files.
  • Delete any resource: The user can delete all files, including other participant´s files.
  • Delete own resources: The user can delete his/her own files but no other participant´s files.
  • Read hidden resources: Allows users to see files that are marked as hidden.